General Convention 2018: Deputies and Resolutions


General Convention began on July 5th in Austin, TX. This meeting sets the mission priorities, budget and policies of the Episcopal Church for the next three years. It approves changes to the Church’s Constitution and Canons, and broadly defines the standards of worship. (You can read more on the basics of General Convention here.)

You can see an update of the action here and follow us on Facebook or Twitter (hashtag #GC79) and from The Episcopal Church’s livestream of events.

Some of the issues to be addressed at this year’s General Convention include: revision of the Book of Common Prayer; racial reconciliation, including strengthened anti-racism training requirements; environmental stewardship, including proposals for “green” loans, a carbon tax and fossil fuel divestment; strategic development of new congregations, including budget requests of $6.8M to fund a churchwide network for church planting over the next triennium; and public policy advocacy to address environmental racism, human trafficking, immigration reform and transgender access, among other issues of national and international concern.

(A blog, Seven whole days, has assembled a list of resolutions here and commentary on them.)

The House of Deputies is one of the legislative houses of the General Convention, the other is the House of Bishops. The House of Deputies has equal numbers of clergy and lay deputies elected by each of the 109 dioceses and one convocation of Episcopal Church congregations in Europe. Like bishops, deputies cannot be instructed to vote one way or another by their diocese. They agree to come to General Convention with open hearts so that they can prayerfully listen to others and be led by the Holy Spirit.

The list of deputies and alternates going to Convention from the Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania is as follows.


Name                        Parish                                                          

Kathy Andonian       Holy Spirit, Harleysville
Kirk Berlenbach       Staff of the Offices of the Diocese
Christopher Hart      St. Mary’s, Wayne
Jo Ann Jones            Redeemer, Bryn Mawr
Karen Lash               Holy Innocents/St. Paul’s, Tacony
Jill Mathis                Grace Epiphany, Mt. Airy
Koshy Matthews      St. Peter’s, Phoenixville
Kirk Muller              Redemption, Southampton
Pam Nesbit              Cathedral, Philadelphia
Hillary Raining        St. Christopher’s, Gladwyne
George Vosburgh     St. David’s, Radnor
Liz Wendt                Trinity, Ambler