Commission on Ministry


The Diocesan Commission on Ministry is charged by the national and diocesan canons to “advise and assist the Bishop in the implementation of the national and diocesan ministry canons.”  It consists of “not less than fifteen members, including Priests, Deacons, and at least six lay persons.  It shall seek to represent the diversity of the Diocese in terms of race, color, ethnic origin, national origin, sex, marital status, sexual orientation, disabilities and age” (Canons 20.1.1 and 20.2.1 of the Diocese of Pennsylvania).

“The Commission shall advise and assist the Bishop: (a) In the implementation of Title III [“Ministry”] of these Canons; (b) In the determination of present and future opportunities and needs for the ministry of all baptized persons; (c) In the design and oversight of the ongoing process for recruitment, discernment, formation for ministry, and assessment of readiness therefor” (Canon III.2.2 of Constitution and Canons of the Episcopal Church).

The Commission on Ministry performs its essential work on behalf of the Diocese and the larger Church with prayer, diligence, good spirit, mutual affection and respect, and essential humor. COM members are indeed as diverse as our diocese—in race, gender, liturgical style, economic status, geography, age, politics, and theological conviction. We trust this diversity models for the congregations and clergy of the diocese the diversity of nominees we hope will seek ordination.

Members of the COM are prepared to talk with congregations about the ministry of all the baptized as well the specifics of the ordination process.  The process contains many essential steps, each of which, we pray, allows generous room for the work of the Holy Spirit. Please call or write The Rev. Canon Arlette Benoit Joseph at Church House for details ( or 215-627-6434, ext.102).

The members of the COM are honored to serve the Diocese and the Church in the holy, moving, and sometimes painful work of helping devout people discern God’s call. There is deep satisfaction and joy in seeing the Holy Spirit move in the lives of those called by God to ordained ministry in the church, and our faith in God and love for our Church are renewed by our work.

As of January 2018, these are the members of the Commission on Ministry:


Class of 2018
Ms. Barbara Dundon (2013)
6030 Bridget Street
Philadelphia, PA 19144
St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Chestnut Hill H: 215.438.8460
Class of 2019
The Rev. Dennis Coleman (2014)
121 Church Street
Phoenixville, PA 19460
St. Peter’s Church, Phoenixville O: 610.933.2195
The Rev. Karen Kaminskas (2014)
Church of the Holy Trinity, West Chester
212 South High Street
West Chester, PA 19382
Holy Trinity, West Chester C: 610.350.8831
Ms. Marilyn MacGregor (2014)
1032 Federal Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
St. Peter’s Church, Philadelphia C: 215.390.1700
The Rev. Erika Takacs (2015)
St. Mark’s Church, Philadelphia
1625 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
St. Marks Church, Philadelphia O: 215.735.1416
Class of 2020
Mr. Todd Brown (2016)
281 Anderson Road
King of Prussia, PA 19406
Christ Church, Philadelphia Email:
The Rev. Dr. Flora Keshgegian
Ms. Anita Friday (2016)
2063 White Horse Road
Berwyn, PA 19312
St. David’s, Radnor Email:
Class of 2021
Ms. Eugenie Dieck (2016)
903 Hagy’s Mill Road
Lafayette Hill, PA 19444
St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Chestnut Hill Email:
Dr. Darryl Ford (2016)
3830 The Oak Road
Philadelphia, PA 19129
St. George St. Barnabas,
Class of 2022

The Rev. Jeff Moretzsohn

Good Samaritan, Paoli

The Rev. Mary McCullough

Trinity, Ambler
The Rt. Rev. Daniel Gutiérrez
Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania
3717 Chestnut Street, Suite 300
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Diocese of Pennsylvania
O: 215.627.6434
Mr. George Vosburgh
The Rev. Hillary Raining (2013)
St. Christopher’s Church, Gladwyne
226 Righters Mill Road
Gladwyne, PA 19035
St. Christopher’s Church, Gladwyne O: 610.688.7947 x 216
The Rev. Canon Arlette Benoit Joseph
Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania
3717 Chestnut Street, Suite 300
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Diocese of Pennsylvania
Canon for Transition Ministry
O: 215.627.6434 x 102